RSS Feed

Modern Blocks Quilt-a-Long – Spool

Last night, I finished ironing my blocks for the June Modern Blocks Quilt-a-Long. June focused on the Spool block, which was considerably easier than May’s Follow the Leader, a block that nearly drove me to smash my sewing machine and left me well-acquainted with my seam ripper. I did have to rip out some seams last night, but that is because I originally made my table runner 7 blocks long. After I spread it across the dining room table, I realized that the sample table runner measurement that I looked up online must have been for people born with a silver spoon in their mouths. For those of us with average sized dining rooms and average sized tables like me, the 7 block runner hung below the edge of the table. It wasn’t a good overhang, it was more of the a-guest-is-sure-to-snag-this-and-spill-everything-on-the-table overhang. So, I pulled the out some seams and made a 5 block runner instead.

spool block - tealFor this month’s block, I used the fabulous MicroMod fabric line from Cloud 9 Fabrics filled in with a little gray.

spool block - fushiaThe MicroMod fabrics are the ones that I won from Katie over at Swim Bike Quilt. Thanks again, Katie!

If you’re thinking, “Hmm… modern blocks quilt-a-long?” It’s not too late to join in the fun. There are still 10 blocks to go. I think I’m going to try super sizing July’s block. I’ve been wanting to try to blow up a block to table topper or tote bag proportions for awhile now. I’m a little worried about the math involved. Does anyone know of an online calculator that helps change the measurement proportions of a quilt block? Or, do you have any other tips for expanding a quilt block to double or triple its original size?

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI’ll also want to take some time in July to quilt the table runner (and fix the eyesore of a walkway that’s in the background of the picture). I’m excited/nervous because I want the quilting to go really well, but I’ll be trying something new — this big diamond, little diamond technique.

Alright, my sister is going to be visiting for the holiday weekend and my realtor is coming on the 8th to tell me how much the house would possibly sell for if I decide to move, so as much as I’d love to spend the night quilting, I really ought to spend the night grouting the last of the countertop tiles, fixing some drywall mishaps, stuccoing the bathroom wall, and/or cleaning the house. We’ll see how far I get on that ambitious list. I did have some Starbuck’s iced coffee, so I’m feeling a little wired for the tasks ahead.

I’m linking up to Fabric Tuesdays and Sew Cute Tuesday this week because I want to procrastinate by browsing through both of the linky parties before I get to that home improvement list.

Fresh Poppy Design

Better Off Thread
11 responses »

  1. super cute spool blocks and those fabrics rock!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

    (by the way, thanks for commenting on my Feeling Groovy quilt! you are a no-reply blogger, so I couldn’t respond by email!)

    Reply
  2. Your table runner looks fab. I love the fabrics you used for your Spool blocks!

    And it’s funny that you mention trying to supersize July’s block. Because I have been thinking about doing just that to make a wall hanging! Can’t wait to see yours.

    Amy x

    Reply
    • Thanks, Amy! I’m excited that someone else is thinking about supersizing that block. I’d love to see how that idea turns out for you. For some reason, I’m getting an error message when I try to get to your blog :-( I’ll look for you at the linky party.

      Reply
  3. The dark grey background on your table runner was a perfect choice! It makes the other colors move:) I am an applique lover, so I convert all the pieced patterns to applique and then it is so easy to change the size of a block.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the tip! I really need to learn to machine applique. I tried twice and wound up giving up and doing it by hand. I have a new machine now, so maybe the third time will be a charm :-)

      Reply
  4. Cute blocks. I love the background fabric :)

    Reply
    • Thanks. During the micro mod quilt along a few months back, the projects that drew my eye had grey backgrounds, so I took my cue from them. Gotta love quilting blogs for the inspiration they provide :-)

      Reply
  5. very cute blocks. :) Love your fabric choices!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make It Yourself. Make It Your Own.

Planting Sequoias

In which I blog about a life well-lived...hopefully.

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

literary candy

Just another WordPress.com site

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

