RSS Feed

Timely Reminders

“Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion. But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up.” – Ecclesiastes 4.9-10

If we could visualize paths leading to Bible verses, the one leading to this one would be pretty well worn. Tonight I’m enjoying the verses though because yet again God is taking my Bible reading straight off the pages and into my heart. The last two weeks my Bible study homework has lined up with my life again and again. God had used it to prepare me for the next day’s events, or He has been providing the insight I need to put a perspective on life events. And, I love it when I have weeks like that. I’d be the first to admit that sometimes Bible reading just feels like a discipline, but sometimes it feels like the dynamic interaction with God that it’s supposed to be.

Tonight it has left me thankful. It’s been a rough two weeks for an introvert like me because it’s been a constant, no-time- to-breathe, always-on-the-go, always-with-people kind of time in life. And, those kinds of times make me very stressed. Added to that stress was a possum invasion, a dead dryer, lots of extracurricular responsibilities, assignments really starting to pour in, and the fact that Todd and I had to make the decision to cancel our weekend plans because I was not feeling well (to the point that I laid on the floor in my office for 45 minutes on Friday — yeah, in a dress with a binder for a pillow. It was not a pretty sight.)

After church on Sunday, I met up with my friend Danielle. Despite the fact that I sent a testy text message about not being able to find the restaurant and despite the fact that she was feeling horrific, Danielle let me pour my heart out to her, validated my fears, and didn’t try to offer any pat answers or quick solutions. Plus, she convinced me to split a sumptuous crab dip appetizer with her. And, tonight when I was reading David: Seeking A Heart Like His, I realized that I had seen the definition for friendship personified in Danielle. Beth Moore claims,

Allowing others to speak their fears even when we can’t understand is characteristic of uncommon friendship. Willingness to listen adn then let the potential insults pass is not a sign of weakness. It is a sign of strength.

So, as I type, I feel blessed. I could get up and look around the corner to see the kitchen with its new range hood and missing drawer fronts installed, and even more exciting, I could see the new bathroom toilet and sink installed — all of these things the result of a selfless sacrificing of vacation time on the part of my parents. Or, I could sit right where I am and look across the room to see the two dozen roses that Todd sent, which are bursting open in a riot of pinks and yellows and reds. Truly, “two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.”

 

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

