RSS Feed

Capitol Hill Books

Image

I was in Virginia for the National Capital Area Cake Show (blog posts coming soon), and while I was there, I took the opportunity to see my sister. We went to Eastern Market in DC and wound up in Capitol City Books. For the first time in my life, being buried in books seemed like it could  be a distinct possibility. And, it was actually a little terrifying. I can’t believe that I’m saying this, but I was overwhelmed by books. 

The store was a three story house literally filled with books. What you see in this picture is what the store looked like throughout. There were books on shelves, books stacked in haphazard stacks on the floor that were 30 or 40 high; even the stairwell was lined with books.And, here’s the bathroom.

Image

The sign in the bathroom was hilarious.

Image

If you took too long in the bathroom, someone might miss out on the chance to get a Polish/English dictionary. And, yes, there really was one of those on the shelf. There was a newspaper clipping in the bathroom that credited the book store with controlled chaos.

Image

And, it was true.

Image

Yes, there really were books lining the windowsills. The window were actually stacked full of books. It was a fruitful search through the bookstore. I’m was missing four of Agatha Christie’s full-length novels before my collection of them is complete, and now I’m down to three. I found The Murder of Roger Ackroyd  today! (I think there may have actually been two that I needed, but to my dismay, I didn’t have my list with me, so I didn’t realize I am still missing Curtain.) And my sister scored Jane Austen’s Guide to Dating, which seems like a book every girl should have.

One response »

  1. Wow, that’s a LOT of books!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

