RSS Feed

More cakes!

As I continue to post the highlights of the cake show, I’ll start with another from the kids’ category.

Image

This was an odd cake, but I’ve got to say it demonstrated a good bit of skill. I could never in a million years sculpt a werewolf like that for my cake.  I just thought that this cake raises an interesting paradox; it wouldn’t seem as if a teen interested in sculpting werewolves would necessarily be interested in cake decorating.

Another cake off the beaten path was baby related. My friend Kristy and I love the blog Cake Wrecks. It’s one of those sites that could potentially have me crying because I’m laughing so hard, and the blog proves that some baby cakes go over the top. As a matter of fact, the blog does a great job pointing out how awkward it is to eat a baby. So, this baby cake that we saw definitely wasn’t as awkward, but I’m still not sure how I feel about it.

Image

Honestly, if asked to make a cake for a baby shower, I’d prefer to stick to blocks, rocking horses, or rubber ducks.

While we’re off the beaten path, here are some of the other cakes. Sorry that the picture for this next one isn’t great, but I still can’t get over the fact that the cake was still standing. I think it must have been at least 4 feet tall.

Image

And, while we’re in the Wizard of Oz vein, here’s another cake. Since the decorator had to actually carve into each layer of the cake to make room for the yellow brick road, I was impressed.

Image

Then, there were some great video game based cakes. Angry Birds, anyone?

Image

Or, how about some Super Mario Brothers?

Image

The detail on this cake was astounding. I really wanted to know how long the decorator worked on it.

Image

I’m pretty sure I would have a better chance of playing through all 8 levels of the game and saving the princess than I would turning out a cake that looks like this.

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

