RSS Feed

Taking the Cake

It’s time for the final post from the cake show. Here are the cakes that amazed me the most. First, is the owl extravaganza.

Image

Take a look at a close up of the owls.Remember that these are being constructed of edible materials.

Image

Here’s a close up of the trees on the cake.

Image

As beautiful as this cake was, it was my least favorite of the four on this post. And, that’s mainly because I’ve discovered that heavy airbrushing on cakes just doesn’t do it for me. I like to see decorators showing off their skills in more exclusively cake-centric activities. Airbrushing and painting can be done on many different canvases, cakes included. Here’s another cake. It was the one that I cast my vote for as best in show. It’s not the one that resonated most with me, but the detail is amazing.

Image

Each of the gems on the cake were hand-crafted.

Image

The peacock was impressive…

Image

especially its tail.

Image

But, as for my personal taste, I liked this Asian inspired cake better for its understated elegance.

Image

Just a decorator and some icing, but such exquisite detail.

Image

And, I felt a little bad for this decorator because the cake was leaning ever so slightly.

Image

The basic techniques on the cake though were taken to an entirely different level when compared with what most people see everyday. I really want to know how to use string work on a cake in the three-dimensional method shown here. It’s like magic, sugar just suspended in air.

Image

And, if I could ever churn out even one rose like the ones on this cake, I would probably have to put it in its own special preservative dome in my kitchen. I’ve never, ever, ever even come close to creating roses like this on my cakes.

Image

They’re amazing here, and the color was even more amazing in person.

There you have it. My first cake show. It was pretty intimidating, but I won’t let it stop me because people are usually somewhat impressed if you go any farther with a cake than slapping Betty Crocker canned frosting on it (not that I’m judging anyone who ever does that because when you point a finger at someone, there are always three more pointing back at you). And, I think decorators at some level have to decorate just because they enjoy the personal challenge to come up with something they can take pride in. As long as I can stay off the Cake Wrecks blog, all will be well.

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

