RSS Feed

Easter Cooking

There was also a lighter side to Easter. I had all day Saturday to hang out with my family, so I decided to do a little bit of fancy cooking using Pinterest recipes for inspiration. I gave in and made those deviled egg chicks that were all the rage on Pinterest this year, and let me just say — Never. Again. They were such a pain to make. In a hard boiled egg, the yolk can wind up anywhere inside. So, for some eggs, I was cracking the side walls to get the yolk out; some eggs had to be cut nearly in half to make an opening for the yolk. I was going nuts; I even tried using our heirloom baby spoons (read: spoons from my childhood) to dig the yolks out. Plus, people thought they were either 1) too cute or 2) too creepy to eat. Plus, it’s messy to eat an entire egg. Sometimes I just have to try something once, but these are not going in the recipe book.

Image

All was not lost though because I made some delicious Neapolitan cupcakes. You start with this recipe, but blogger Jen Del Muro is pretty much my hero for adapting the recipe to mimic the classic ice cream. And, I have to give my mom props for suggesting the cherry on the top.

It was so easy to go from two bowls of batter

Image

to the cupcake liners

Image

to the fun final product. I only wish I would have taken my cupcake display stands to my parents’ house for Easter.

Image

I was happy with the cupcakes the way they were, but next time, I might put some real strawberries into the strawberry layer for more delectability, and I might make the icing more of a glaze consistency or spread it thinner because the icing overpowered the cake a little.

One response »

  1. Pingback: My own little cake wreck… | One English Teacher

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

