RSS Feed

No sour lemons here

I took a Lemon Sheet Cake to a party on Friday night, and it got rave reviews. Since this is the second time the cake has been a hit, I thought I’ve pass along the recipe to all my blog followers who might be getting ready for spring and summer parties. Lemon desserts are a wonderful addition to spring, I think. There’s just something refreshing about a lemon dessert.And, this recipe is SUPER easy. You’ll have time to make it and still work on your tan.

I’d love to give credit where credit is due, but I’m not 100% sure what magazine I tore this recipe out of. It’s labeled a potluck pleaser and has one of those pre-recipe descriptions typical ofTaste of Home, so if I had to give you my best guess, I’d say that’s where it came from.

Here’s what you need (short grocery list, yay!)
1 package (18 1/4 oz) lemon cake mix
4 eggs
1 can (15 3/4 oz) lemon pie filling — I couldn’t find this, just a 22 ounce one
1 package (3 oz) cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In large mixing bowl, beat the cake mix and eggs until well blended. Fold in pie filling. (I just estimated since I couldn’t find the size of can that was called for. It doesn’t seem like this step is rocket science; don’t stress about getting it perfect).

Spread into a greased 15x10x1 baking pan. (notice the recipe does not call for a 13×9 pan; both times I’ve made the cake, I have used my larger cake pan. The cake is a little on the thin side when I do, so I think you could use a 13×9 pan. You might just have to adjust the baking time a little.)

Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Icing:
In a small mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, butter, and confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Stir in vanilla. Spread over cooled cake. Store in the refrigerator.

Icing note: This recipe is only going to make enough icing to put a thin coat on the cake; the icing is pretty rich and the cake has a delicate flavor, so I think the amount of icing made achieves a good balance. However, if you’re an icing fiend, you might want to double your icing.

Now, find a sunny spot, a good book, and enjoy! And, if anyone makes this into cupcakes, let me know how they turn out. It doesn’t seem like the cake rises too much as it bakes, so I’m a little nervous about making the recipe into cupcakes. They would be such great little treats though.

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

