RSS Feed

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

This post isn’t actually about reducing, reusing, or recycling, but it’s late on a Friday night, and I’m out of creativity for the week. I couldn’t even think of anything to draw on the table at Macaroni Grill, so instead, I had to lose horribly at a game of tic-tac-toe.

However, this post is about making items in the house pull their weight. It’s the end of the semester, and while this semester’s end isn’t quite at hectic as most, life is still falling apart a wee bit. How do I know this? I ironed a shirt today with my curling iron — actually two shirts. Yep, ladies, if you haven’t made your curling iron work for its space in the bathroom yet, you really need to think about making it do so.

This morning while I was getting ready, I smoothed a few wrinkles out of my shirt just to spruce it up a bit.I was going rather Friday casual, but I didn’t want to go that casual — the kind of casual that makes people wonder if you found your wardrobe in your hamper, which I never hardly ever do.

Then, this evening, I was trying to change quickly since I was going to a women’s event at the church. A few women who are relatively new to the church had been in email contact with me during the week, and we planned to meet for the first time at the event. I had told them that I would be wearing a blue plaid shirt to make finding me easier. It’s not like I have multiple blue plaid shirts, so it was pretty crucial that I wear one particular shirt tonight. Lo and behold, I yanked it out of the closet to find the most annoying laundry woe — wrinkled button strip. Argh…wrinkled button strip annoys me so much. How is it that so many shirts come out of the dryer looking wearable except for that one strip of fabric holding the buttons? It’s ridiculous that one little strip of fabric separates the disorganized from those who prep their clothes the night before. One little strip of fabric can make the difference between the chic diva and the bum who doesn’t iron. But, that’s where my curling iron goes to work. I do my hair, and then I go to work on that dumb button strip. Works every time; I get to skip out the door the bum who doesn’t iron, but I’m in disguise as the chic diva.

And, while we’re on the topic of making household items pull their weight, can we talk about your Dawn dishwashing soap for a minute, specifically the blue stuff? I want to pass along a little Pinterest tip to my readers. I found a recipe for homemade shower cleaner that works great. Mix equal parts of warm vinegar and blue Dawn dishwashing soap in a spray bottle. A 1/2 cup of each made enough for me to generous spray the entire shower with plenty to also clean the toilet, bathroom sink, and kitchen sink. Shake lightly; spray in your shower and leave it to sit for at least 10 minutes. Soap scum will be decimated by the time you return. I’m not kidding. I even used this stuff on the pillow that suction cups to the bathtub wall. I’m ashamed to say that the gunk accumulated behind the suction cups was probably toxic, and this spray loosened all of it up.

I pass on this recipe with 3 caveats. First, the blog where I found it said to use blue Dawn specifically; commenters on that blog did say they’d used other colors and even store brands with success. I haven’t tried that yet because I wanted to stick as close to directions the first time through; if anyone have success with a different soap though, let me know. Second, buy your spray bottle at the dollar store. Friends don’t let friends spend more than they need to on stuff like that. Third, go easy on the spray unless you have a handheld showerhead that you can use to rinse out your shower. While this mixture does cut right through soap scum, rinsing it can be a bit of a challenge because it creates tons of suds. However, since I have a handheld showerhead, I just spray down the shower with the cleaning mixture, quickly go over all the surfaces with a rag 10 minutes later, and then spray down the shower until it’s rinsed clean. Hope that helps with any cleaning you have on your to-do list this weekend!

2 responses »

  1. OK… first, when you said “I haven’t tried that yet because I wanted to stick as close to directions the first time through”, I briefly entertained the idea that we may have been fraternal twins separated at birth; I mean, recipes exist for a reason right? I have endured my fair share of heckling for following recipes to the T. Now, on to why I am here. I tried the recipe. I didn’t have blue Dawn dishsoap or regular vinegar ~and~ I was already at the grocery store today so another trip was out of the question. I did, however, have Target’s brand of green dishsoap and apple cider vinegar. Lititz has some of the hardest water around and this concoction positively, unquestionably laid absolute waste to the soap scum and hard water buildup in our shower. CLR and Lime away have NOTHING on this mixture when it comes to wiping away soap scum on the inside of a shower. I left it for 15 minutes (almost forgot about it) and the soap scum wipes away with a soft sponge. Now, in the spirit of confession, I was a doubter, so I just poured some hot vinegar from the microwave into a spray bottle and eye-balled an equivalent amount of dishsoap; still one of the most amazing things I have seen in quite some time. Kudo’s Jess. Thanks for passing this along.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

