RSS Feed

Blogging in my Dreams

On Saturday, I slept in. Like really slept in. I went to bed around 2 or 3 am and slept until after 11. I half opened my eyes, and the dog came and laid down next to me because he loves sleep in mornings. They mean I’ll lay there and pet him for a bit instead of jumping up to get the day started. I then fell back to sleep. Finally, I woke up after 12 and put the dog out (what a good dog to wait all that time). We curled up back in bed, and I read a short mystery story. Then, I went back to bed until after 2. Oh, those kinds of Saturdays are sometimes very welcome.

In all that sleeping, I was bound to dream. I had a dream that I was walking in New York City. For some reason, I was carrying a very, very heavy bag with me. I walked to the far reaches of the city for no apparent reason, and then I turned around and started to hoof my way back across the city. Again, I have no idea what I was accomplishing. Maybe this was symbolic of my rather non-productive Saturday.

As I was trudging through the city with this heavy bag, I remember coming across huge escalators, and somehow they were a shortcut to where I needed to go (even though I didn’t know where I was going). So, I rode the escalators to the top and found that I was confronted with a giant sliding board that curved all around like a water park slide. That was the only option; I couldn’t go back down the escalators, so I had to take the slide. I was dreading it with that heavy cumbersome bag, but I made it down the slide.

The slide deposited me in a very, tiny cramped space with no exit except for two PVC pipes about 4 inches across. (Maybe I should have played less Super Mario Brothers as a child.) I was highly distressed in the dream because I had no idea how I was going to get my body stuffed inside the pipes to get out, and I knew I was going to have to leave my bag behind.

Here’s the most bizarre part of the dream — as if the rest of the dream wasn’t bizarre enough. The slide ended in  a mass of  circular curls, and I thought to myself, “I need a picture of that, so I can describe this on my blog.” I took out a camera and was trying to maneuver all around the small room to get a good angle for the picture.  I consciously shoved aside my panic and told myself to get the picture and then worry about how to get out. Then, I woke up.

I’ve always told people that being a blogger changes my perspective on life because it makes me pay attention to stories. I just don’t think it’s ever invaded my dreams before.

One response »

  1. Hello!

    You are my winner! Email me at theprettyladybaby@gmail.com! Thanks so much for following my blog I really appreciate you!

    Kerrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

