RSS Feed

Work in Progress Wednesday – spools and pearls

Just a quick check in tonight. I like work in progress Wednesday in the quilt blogging world; it makes me want to push to do something.

I’ve been working on my two quilt alongs this week. Remember the placemats with the flying geese from last month’s modern block quilt along? Whew! They were tough. This month’s spools are progressing more quickly, and I don’t think I’ve ripped out any stitches yet. Each of the seven spools need one more piece sewn onto them. Then, I’ll trim up the blocks and piece them together for a table runner. I need some advice from fellow quilters out there. What type of batting do you use for your table runners? I use 100% cotton in my baby quilts. I love the drape it gives the quilt, and I don’t mind that they crinkle up a bit when washed. I’m not sure I want the crinkle in a modern table runner though. Should I use a polyester batting instead? Or, should I use a cotton/poly blend? Please weigh in with your success or horror stories on batting choice.

Here are the two spool blocks that I’ll be alternating.

spool of thread progressMaybe some of you recognize the fabric from the Micro Mod fabric line from Cloud 9. It’s the fabric that I was so excited to win from Katie over at Swim Bike Quilt when she completed her micro mod sew along project.

spool of thread 2 progressAnd, I’m also working on the String of Pearls Quilt Along at Christa Quilts. She’s such a kind guide, always reminding participants to move at their own pace and have fun. But, I don’t want to be behind!

string of pearls progressI’m not quite sure why I’m freaking out. I have to put black sashing on the last two sides of the squares, trim them up, and strip piece together the background fabric and get it cut. But, Christa isn’t even going to release the next phase of the quilt along until July 3rd. Plus, my quilt is going to be way smaller than hers. I reduced it down to make it baby sized. Until I do a little more quilting, I don’t trust myself to be able to manage a very big quilt yet. So, I keep them short and sweet.

So, that’s what’s going on around here. My other work in progress was going to be priming some night stands and accent tables for the front porch tonight. But, it’s 11:30, so it’s probably best not to dive into that project just now. Maybe curling up with Agatha Christie for a little bit would be a better idea.
WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

5 responses »

  1. Your pearl blocks look great!! As far as batting goes – I like cotton or wool. You can always pre-shrink your cotton batting by washing it in a pillowcase tied shut on a very gentle cycle 😉

    Reply
    • Thanks for the pillowcase tip, Christa. I’ve read before about dunking cotton batting in the bathtub and laying it flat to dry, and that’s just too over the top for me. A pillowcase — I can do that 🙂

      Reply
  2. I also enjoy the WiP photos. There is always lots of inspiration out there 🙂

    Reply
  3. I use a polyester batting–warm and bright??–made by the same company as Warm and Natural. I buy it by the roll when I have a coupon at JoAnn’s. I’ve been using it for years, and the only caveat is it might beard some on really dark quilts (black, purples, etc), but I haven’t really had any troubles.

    I love pearl bracelet! I have a stack and I try to work a piece in here and there to my quilting, when I can.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the batting tip. I agree – Pearl Bracelet is such a fun fabric. That’s part of what pulled me into the quilt along; I had been seeing Pearl Bracelet popping up in various quilts and wanted to try some out for myself. I hope you get time to make something gorgeous this week 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

One English Teacher

...with a world to discover

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

OPQuilt: Quilts & Textiles

A Daisy Garden

Photography. Sewing. Cooking. Quilting. Inspiration.

stitchsewquilt

Searching for the perfect quarter inch seam

The Sassy Quilter

saving the world one quilt at a time...

Wasn't Quilt in a Day

Since Rome wasn't either, I'll take my time.

SYNC

YA Literature into Your Earphones

Christa Quilts

Make it yourself. Make it your own.

Planting Sequoias

I do things and then I write about doing things

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

littlefarmintheboro

Wanna be country family....living in a Boro...

Bit o' Betty

Outlook on Life, Observations in the World, and Total Allegiance to Christ

sewing room secrets

the story behind the stitches

Rachel Goble

Trying to live fully, love deeply and tell stories with dignity.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

I Like String

Watch and learn as I make things!

lilru96's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

